Bug: Map Appearing in Panel (Beta 1.09) [FIXED-1.0]

An archive for tracking bugs that have already been fixed
Locked
User avatar
Weezoh
General
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: NE Ohio
Contact:

Bug: Map Appearing in Panel (Beta 1.09) [FIXED-1.0]

Post by Weezoh » Wed May 10, 2006 9:29 pm

I've started noticing this has happend.

I've just created this particular map also it's happened with the desert ripples map (which I'm not sure I ever even loaded); and when I loaded it the first time, it was fine the preview was in the right place, after exiting the program and coming back in; it looks like this:

Image
Macbook Pro
Intel iMac
Mac os 10.5.4

--
Weezoh

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9382
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Wed May 10, 2006 9:45 pm

I've seen that once or twice myself. I think it's new to 1.0.9. The map graphic's registration point is not being properly set, for some reason. It may be related to maps that are over 32 cells wide, I suspect.

Is it repeatable consistently?
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
Halebop
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Post by Halebop » Wed May 10, 2006 10:54 pm

It happens consistently. Selecting a map that has strayed out of alignment and then opening the map menu again seems to fix it.

User avatar
Weezoh
General
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:24 pm
Location: NE Ohio
Contact:

Post by Weezoh » Wed May 10, 2006 10:57 pm

I have a map that's 40 x 32 and it didn't happen with that one;

Verify that selecting a bad map will fix the other bad maps.
Macbook Pro
Intel iMac
Mac os 10.5.4

--
Weezoh

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9382
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Wed May 10, 2006 11:50 pm

The map registration point seems to be correct (top left corner), but the preview image isn't being centered properly. Does this misplaced preview only seem to happen when the map in question was the last thing imported?
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
Halebop
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Post by Halebop » Wed May 10, 2006 11:56 pm

It looks like it might be the "last imported" map (Non-Cast User map?). Although I have previously created multiple instances as well so there might be more to it.

Phergus
Captain
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:42 pm
Contact:

Post by Phergus » Thu May 11, 2006 12:45 am

It happened to me earlier today but only when the Load Object dialog opens on the right side of the screen.

Couldn't get it to happen again later when I tried to get it to happen.

I'm pretty sure it happened while I was running in host mode with a client connected.
Visit Dark Isle for photos of castles, standing stones, burial cairns and other historic sites in the British Isles.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9382
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Thu May 11, 2006 2:17 am

I doubt that hosting or not makes a difference. Or what side of screen panel is on.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Phergus
Captain
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 8:42 pm
Contact:

Post by Phergus » Thu May 11, 2006 12:00 pm

Reproduced by:
  1. Replacing User Cast file with original from 1.09 zip file.
  2. Start BRPG and open Map dialog. Default map image is normal.
  3. Loaded a map that is 1533x1095. Note that neither coordinate is evenly divisible by 61.
  4. Open map panel and all is still fine.
  5. Quit BRPG.
  6. User Cast file grew by almost 16MB for this one map!
  7. Restart BRPG and open Map dialog. Note that default image (desert ripple) is now offset.
Tried with a map that was correctly sized to a multiple of 61 in both dimensions.
  • User Cast file only grew by a little over 1MB.
  • After quitting and restarting the default map texture wasn't offset but the new map I added was offset in the dialog.
Visit Dark Isle for photos of castles, standing stones, burial cairns and other historic sites in the British Isles.

User avatar
Halebop
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:16 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Post by Halebop » Thu May 18, 2006 2:23 am

1.09a: Can anyone duplicate this bug?

User avatar
Omnidon
Site Admin
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: NY State, USA
Contact:

Post by Omnidon » Sun Jun 11, 2006 12:27 am

---Moved from Other Thread---
Omnidon wrote:I had an odd bug where a map would appear in my unit panel when resizing or rotating units.

This was fixed by deleting my User Cast.cxt and replacing it with a fresh one.
heruca wrote:You can also fix it by importing a new figure or object graphic.
heruca wrote:I've encounter this bug, too. I just made some changes to the program, so this should be fixed in v1.0.
---Marked as Fixed for 1.0---

User avatar
Omnidon
Site Admin
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: NY State, USA
Contact:

Post by Omnidon » Tue Jul 18, 2006 11:32 am

Hmmm I'm consistently getting this bug in RC2-PR

The preview of the Fantasy Interior map "Necromancer's Lair" is always appearing to the up and left of the preview window. (As seen in earlier screenshot.)

User avatar
Omnidon
Site Admin
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: NY State, USA
Contact:

Post by Omnidon » Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:06 pm

Haven't seen this in RC2a yet.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9382
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Thu Oct 19, 2006 8:02 pm

I believe the issue of preview thumbnails not being centered is fixed for v1.0. This was happening a lot in the two versions I sent out for private testing, particularly when browsing files in the new Purge panel. But I fixed it today. :D
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest