Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Help improve BRPG and BGE by reporting any bugs you encounter.
DHall
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:03 pm

Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by DHall » Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:47 pm

Hello -

I am running Windows 10 x64, (laptop)
Battlegrounds RPG version 1.8b

I have had no problems loading commercial maps, except for these:

http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/187 ... st-Map-Set

I have given this map set its own category folder, and when I select the category from the drop down menu I get this:

"Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working"
Then windows closes the program. I have tried the following:

Renaming the map files thinking that the file names might be too long
Isolating each map in the folder to see if a particular file was to blame
Opening the jpg files in Adobe Photoshop and saving under a different name
Moving the jpgs to a different computer (a desktop I use as a client) and trying to open them there, thinking it might be a hardware or driver issue

None of this has worked, I'm afraid, these maps always crash the Macromedia Projector and close the program.
Any help would be appreciated! If you need any more info, let me know.
Dave

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9323
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by heruca » Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:28 am

Have you reduced the map dimensions to be no higher than 4000 pixels max (length or width), as suggested in the BRPG User Manual?
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9323
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by heruca » Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:29 am

Also make sure that the colorspace is RGB, not CMYK (common in maps intended for printing).
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

DHall
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:03 pm

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by DHall » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:05 pm

That worked perfectly. Thanks for the prompt reply - I missed the 4000 pixel limit.
Dave

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9323
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by heruca » Tue Oct 11, 2016 1:25 pm

Great. Welcome to the BG forums, by the way.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9323
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by heruca » Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:04 am

Someone else was getting this error yesterday and they were able to fix it by updating their Nvidia video card drivers. Just mentioning it in case this helps anyone else restore BRPG and/or BGE to working order.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

dj_himp
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:58 am

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by dj_himp » Sat Apr 01, 2017 12:05 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to use BGE for the first time, and I get this error every time I try to launch BGE.

I'm running windows 10 64bits, and this is a fresh install (just unzip).
I've tried compatibility modes, launch as administrator, disabled data protection, update to the latest nvidia graphic cards drivers but nothing helps.

Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9323
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by heruca » Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:52 pm

Welcome, dj_himp.

Does launching in Safe Mode allow BGE to run properly? Not a fix, just a troubleshooting step.

Also, see if anything mentioned in this thread helps.

An actual fix could depend on Nvidia putting out a new driver that fixes the bug they recently introduced, or it may depend on the next Windows update from Microsoft.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

dj_himp
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:58 am

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by dj_himp » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:55 am

Thanks for your help,
it actually works in safe mode so there should be a service that avoid BGE to launch normally.
I've tried messing around with the boot service list without luck.
Also the other thread you mention didn't help.

EDIT: I've managed to launch BGE in compatibility mode set as Windows 98 ! Yesterday I tried all compatibility modes except for the windows 95 & 98 because... well because its too old but It works so I can live with that.
Thanks again for the support
Last edited by dj_himp on Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9323
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by heruca » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:03 am

Flash, Shockwave, and QuickTime are likely suspects.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

dj_himp
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:58 am

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by dj_himp » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:09 am

QuickTime and shockwave are not installed. Flash is up to date.
But see the edit of my last post it works now in windows 98 compatibility mode, so I'm good.
Thanks

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9323
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Macromedia Projector Has Stopped Working

Post by heruca » Sun Apr 02, 2017 9:11 am

That's great that you got it working. I'll share that work-around with others who are having the same issue.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Post Reply