Unit/Object names getting changed.

Help improve BRPG and BGE by reporting any bugs you encounter.
Post Reply
Mark Skarr
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:16 pm

Unit/Object names getting changed.

Post by Mark Skarr » Sat Jul 12, 2014 5:48 pm

I don’t know if this is a bug per se, but if it isn't it seems highly counter-intuitive.

When I add an object, I try to give it a unique name. That way, in the Unit Manager, I can find it easily (for moving to/from sideboard or hidden status). However, the when I convert an object into a tile it gets its unique name removed the moment the Unit Manager is closed, the name defaults to the original, non-unique name. To make matters worse, the program now assumes the first instance of that object I placed is every instance of that object.

Please see attached screens. Sorry for the large size, but I wanted to ensure you could see the situation clearly (5 steps was the minimum I could do it in).

I'm running BRPG 1.8c. I have an i7-4770 with 12gb RAM running Win7/64.
Attachments
Why1.png
Why1.png (2.33 MiB) Viewed 5762 times
Why2.png
Why2.png (2.33 MiB) Viewed 5762 times
Why3.png
Why3.png (2.32 MiB) Viewed 5762 times
Why4.png
Why4.png (2.32 MiB) Viewed 5762 times
Why5.png
Why5.png (2.33 MiB) Viewed 5762 times

User avatar
Omnidon
Site Admin
Posts: 2186
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:46 pm
Location: NY State, USA
Contact:

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Post by Omnidon » Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:02 pm

Looks like a bug to me.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9381
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Post by heruca » Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:06 pm

Yes, but I don't think the Unit Manager is renaming anything. I think the renaming happens when you close the unit editor. Will look into it. In the meantime, Consider names like "Secret Door A", "Secret Door B", etc., to keep them distinct.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Mark Skarr
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:16 pm

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Post by Mark Skarr » Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:18 pm

I tried naming just one "Secret Doorway" and when I closed and re-opened the UM, it was "10' Door Gap 1" again.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9381
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Unit/Object names getting changed.

Post by heruca » Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:36 pm

Ah, perhaps the bug is only affecting units from artpacks, as opposed to stand-alone PNGs.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests