Page 1 of 1

Visual Aids don't appear on client instance

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:53 pm
by dynamicguync
I have a number of visual aids (maps, portraits, etc.) that I'm trying to share with my players.
I'm currently running both the DM and client on the same computer, with the client instance being displayed on a TV.

When I send the visual aid (to anyone), it shows up on the DMs instance, and the client instance gets a pop-up message (I believe its the "double-click to close" message), but then the images never show up.

I've tried copying the images to the Visual Aids folder in the client instance folder structure (they are currently in a sub-folder that I created) and they are also in the DM's folder structure.

It seemed to work the first couple of times I used this setup, but for the past 2 sessions it hasn't.

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Thanks!
David

Re: Visual Aids don't appear on client instance

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:31 pm
by heruca
You might need to resize the visual aids to ensure that they are under 2MB uncompressed.

2MBs is the largest message that BRPG can transmit via the networking code (exception: maps get sliced up into rows, so they can be bigger).

But given that you have both clients on the same computer, and you've already put the graphics into the proper folder, the easiest thing would be to use the "Batch Import" command (on the Player Client instance) prior to the start of the game session. This will ensure the art is already imported and ready to be shown on a moment's notice.

Re: Visual Aids don't appear on client instance

Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:33 pm
by heruca
See pg. 89 of the BRPG User Manual for more details.

Re: Visual Aids don't appear on client instance

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:14 am
by dynamicguync
Thanks, I'll double check the file sizes and try the import.

Re: Visual Aids don't appear on client instance

Posted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:27 pm
by heruca
By the way, if you manually import the art on the player client, it's OK for the art to be over 2 MB, as it won't need to be transmitted over the network.