Questions about Hosting

"How Do I...?"
Eru
Soldier

Questions about Hosting

Post by Eru » Sat Apr 06, 2013 10:50 pm

I have been using BRPG face to face for a couple of months. A couple of friends have purchased the Player client and we are planning a session a couple of weeks from now as I prepare. Thinking ahead, we attempted a test run tonight, but I did run into some issues that after reading through troubleshooting, I should've thought of beforehand (but that's what test runs are for)

I am working on configuring my router for hosting; but I had some questions.

I noticed that I may be better off placing maps on a server for speed.

Would I just be placing the maps there or would it be more beneficial to host a game from a server? Is that possible? If so, do you have any good suggestions on a site (even if its by fee) that offers server space for that purpose?

I'm kind of new to such things I must admit, though my players seem to have some rudimentary knowledge on it.

I guess what I'm asking is what would be the best way to host a game even it requires an additional service. As long as its not more than about 15 to 20 bucks a month; it would be worth it. Anyone have some good experience with this?

heruca
Developer

Post by heruca » Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:35 am

The computer you use to host the game session is essentially your game server. You should be fine as long as you give your players your external IP address and have set up port forwarding on your router.

Players need to configure nothing at all, but they should make sure they each use a unique username to join the game session.

Your ISP is probably giving you a small allotment of free webspace along with your internet connection and email account. You can use that space to upload maps to.

Yes, server-based maps load significantly faster for players than peer-to-peer map transfers, and more reliably, too.