Page 1 of 1

Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 1:49 am
by rochambeaux
What is the initial size that components are placed on the Game Board are based on?

I'm trying to create a deck of cards and no matter how I size the JPGs they import into the game really big. And the portrait view is absolutely enormous.

I know I can resize the decks/items via the Chat window and "reszie" but is that the only way?

Is there any way to modify the portrait view size?

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:14 am
by heruca
The default size for new components is 50%, so that they appear at full size when fully zoomed (200% zoom).

Portrait art is always shown at the original size (100%). It is not currently possible to specify a custom size for portrait art.

Sounds like you need to downsample your artwork in an image editor (Photoshop, Gimp, etc.) prior to importing it into the program.

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:03 pm
by Guest
By downsample do you mean reduce the pixel height & width or reduce the DPI?

I tried scaling the images down by 50% but they still looked the same afterwards (haven't tried changing DPI).

I'm using a QHD display - could that resolution make BGE a bit finicky?

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 5:17 pm
by heruca
DPI and PPI are irrelevant. What matters are pixel dimensions.

You probably just need to purge your previously-imported artwork using the Purge Media panel. Then place the resized artwork as normal.

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 6:13 pm
by Guest
Well I'm obviously doing something wrong here..

I've resized the deck down by 50% three times. The cards are now under 100K in size and about 199 x 310 pixels in size.

Each time I did a resize I did the Purge/Refresh and even tried creating a new deck - no change.

I'm placing the card images under the COMPONENTS folder and using CREATE CARD DECK.

Is that the way I should be doing it?

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 7:26 pm
by heruca
Purge/Refresh is only good for artpacks. Purge Media is what you want.

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:15 pm
by Guest
OK, that worked (after purging the deck had a ? but I just deleted it and re-created the deck).

Of course now it was way too small since I had reduced the images 3 or 4 times :)

Does the Game table have a set pixel dimension that can be used as a reference? i.e. if it is X pixels wide and Y pixels high I can manage my components accordingly and size them before importing into the game and now worry about having to resize from the chat window.

Thanks

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 9:26 pm
by heruca
122 pixels per grid square

Re: Component Size

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2014 11:01 pm
by rochambeaux
Perfect! thanks!

That manes the maxium board size is 4,880 x 4,880 pixels.

This will help tremendously for creating custom game specific playmats, etc and making "spots" for different components/cards to go, etc.

Re: Component Size

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:42 am
by heruca
Actually, the maximum board size maxes out at 4000x4000 pixels. I suggest you read pages 138-140 of the BGE User Manual.

Re: Component Size

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:09 pm
by rochambeaux
Interesting.. So at 34+ squares the pixel count starts to "compress down" so that 40 squares it's 100 pixels?

Or does some sort of "warping" occur?

Re: Component Size

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 1:12 pm
by heruca
No warping occurs. There's simply a limit on maximum image size allowed.

Re: Component Size

Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 2:57 pm
by Omnidon
It's a limitation in the development software (Adobe Director) used to create BG combined with the fact that heruca originally designed the map, fog of war, and grids to be loaded as single large images (rather than auto-tiling programmatically).

If you do not need the dynamic fog of war or snap to grid features, you can create larger maps using images split into smaller tiles and added as background objects set to Tile mode.