Custom Dice

"How Do I...?"
rochambeaux
Sergeant

Custom Dice

Post by rochambeaux » Sun Oct 26, 2014 7:56 pm

How hard would it be to make custom dice for use in BGE?

heruca
Developer

Re: Custom Dice

Post by heruca » Tue Oct 28, 2014 2:07 am

Do you mean dice that you can roll on the game table window? Very easy. Just create a multi-token component.

If you mean creating a custom dice "plug-in" for use in the Dice Roller window, that would require a copy of Adobe Director, since you would need to compile a ".cxt" file. Or perhaps I can put it together for you if you provide the graphics for each die face.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

rochambeaux
Sergeant

Post by rochambeaux » Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:01 pm

Thanks!

I have access to Adobe Director - never used and have no idea how it works but I've self taught myself PhotoShop and Illustrator well enough to be dangerous :)

Let me take a stab at it first and see how much I can muck it up...

With BGE I'm pretty confident with my ability to do card based games - the dice is for my next real project:

http://wizkidsgames.com/mageknight/

It requires a LOT of bit and token scanning - I could do the dice as a mult-token but I really love the dice plug-in feature. If I can get that to work I have a number of dice based games that I'd like to do as well.

heruca
Developer

Post by heruca » Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:33 pm

Here's an example of an existing custom die, as seen in the Director environment.

Just take a blank cast in Director and import an image to use for each die face. Might have to use a special naming convention for each image, but it's really a simple thing to put together.

Last step is to encrypt the cast into a copy-protected cast file (".cxt").
Attachments
Sample Custom Die Cast.png
Sample Custom Die Cast.png (23.92 KiB) Viewed 26470 times