New User having script error problems

Post Reply
Preator
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:32 pm

New User having script error problems

Post by Preator » Sun Aug 01, 2010 3:52 pm

Our group is trying to learn the program, and my GM client is working ok, but when we connect, the players are getting a lot of 'script error' pop-ups, which halt the game and usually boot them out. For example, in the Dead of Night game. when I load any of the game's card decks, a script error appears on their screens and then boots them out. I then tried downloading the game on all of their computers, but the issue remained. I really hope this can be resolved, because the program looks so good and works well with my GM client. thanks!

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9384
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:40 pm

For some reason, your message posted to three different threads. I deleted the other two posts.

You didn't mention what version of BRPG you are using. Make sure your players are using the exact same version, since BRPG will auto-boot anyone that logs in with a version that is different than what the host is running.

To play any game conversion, like the Dead of Night game, the players must have the game installed on their end, as stated in the installation instructions that accompany the game download.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9384
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:46 pm

And if you are using a version older than v1.6d, you should update your software.
ReadMe for v1.6d wrote:Bug fix: Loading saved card games wasn't working properly.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Preator
Cannon Fodder
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:32 pm

Post by Preator » Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:55 pm

i've been playing around with it and it only glitches on the Dead of Night card decks. The standard decks load and show properly. We're using the same version (1.6g) so i'm going to keep trying and see if i can get it working...maybe reinstalling it

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9384
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Sun Aug 01, 2010 6:07 pm

Before your players join your game session, have them open the card table and load the Dead of Night card deck. See if that "pre-loading" process avoids errors once they DO log into your game.

It's also worth double-checking that they installed everything in the right places.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9384
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Sun Aug 01, 2010 9:54 pm

It's also entirely possible that there is an issue with Dead of Night that only appears in multiplayer games. I will try to test it out here tomorrow, just to be sure.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9384
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Thu Aug 05, 2010 3:58 pm

Bug confirmed. The problem seems to be that the remote clients are not auto-loading the custom card deck that the GM has selected, even thought they have installed the deck file in the proper place.

I will try to fix this for v1.6h. In the meantime, if your players pre-load the deck prior to connecting to you, as I described two posts up, you shouldn't have any problem running Dead of Night with v1.6g.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9384
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:17 pm

Using v1.6g: Of course, when it's time to switch to the Act 2 card deck, your players will need to log off, load that deck in the Card Table, and log back on again.
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

User avatar
heruca
Developer
Posts: 9384
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:58 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact:

Post by heruca » Thu Aug 05, 2010 4:58 pm

This is fixed for v1.6h. :D
:arrow: Please help spread the word about BRPG and BGE, and never hesitate to tell me how I can make them better suit your gaming needs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests